Hear Their Voices: Celebrate Black History Month with Best-Selling Authors

Little Leaders Book

Jan. 28, 2021

Every single action matters. And every voice can make a difference. As we continue to make progress, we encourage an ongoing and open dialogue – one between our associates, members, suppliers and communities around the world – so that we can reach the best of what we can be.

That’s why, in celebration of Black History Month, Sam’s Club is taking an action by inviting you and your children to keep that conversation going and hear from five best-selling Black authors as they read their inspiring books via virtual book readings. The authors include:

Jemar Tisby – How to Fight Racism (adult title)

  • Date: Friday, Feb. 5
  • Time: 7 p.m. CST/8 p.m. EST
  • Click here to register

Malcolm Mitchell – My Very Favorite Book in the Whole Wide World (children’s title)

  • Date: Saturday, Feb 13
  • Time: 10 a.m. CST/11 a.m. EST
  • Click here to register

Vashti Harrison – Little Leaders Series (children’s titles)

  • Date: Saturday, Feb. 20
  • Time: 10 a.m. CST/11 a.m. EST
  • Click here to register

Meena Harris – Ambitious Girl (children’s title)

  • Date: Saturday, Feb. 20
  • Time: 2:30 p.m. CST/3:30 p.m. EST
  • Click here to register

Linsey Davis – Stay This Way Forever (children’s title)

  • Date: Saturday, Feb. 27
  • Time: 10 a.m. CST/11 a.m. EST
  • Click here to register

Sam’s Club also offers a Culture and Kindness book collection in every club. These displays feature more than 30 titles to encourage open mindedness and allow grownups to celebrate differences, teach empathy and increase understanding while also helping start conversations with peers and children of every age.

bhm author books

For those who can’t make it into a club, select options are available on SamsClub.com as well.

This is just one of the thousand little things it will take to create real change, but it’s one that will help us all become better educated on diversity and introduce different perspectives into our lives, whether you’re a parent, teacher, young adult or child trying to create progress.